Sometimes You Catch ‘em – Sometimes You Don’t

Carolina Skiff at Sun Up

Skimming across the waves in a Carolina Skiff  made the top of my husbands bucket list during a recent near-death hospitalization.  So now we have he has the skiff. What I have is very little discretionary time to help him take it out.  This was the first Saturday since his hospitalization that all factors have lined up favorably: it isn’t a crowded holiday weekend (Father’s Day, but not Memorial Day); I do not have to work; he was not  too ill to go out; and best of all the sunny weather forecast was favorable…..for the morning anyway (scattered thunderstorms predicted for the afternoon – a CYA prediction the local weather persons always add to their forecasts this time of year).  And, the tide tables indicated a low tide at 2:30 AM heading to a high tide at 1:00 PM. So out lives were in sync with the sun and the moon.

Based on the forecast and the tide tables a 7:00 AM fishing trip was do-able.  Ours days are blazing hot right now, morning is the coolest. My departed father convinced me that you catch the best fish on the incoming tide.  On an incoming tide you can catch red snapper. Outgoing tides yield  catfish and dogfish. I’m not betting on the science  of dad’s theory, but I hang on to it.  My dad and I shared his fishing tips with my children, who now are passing the knowledge on to their kids. Four generations of sports-fishers can’t be wrong.

Dad also convinced me that it’s best to fish where there is cover or natural feeding for fish….perhaps near the shoreline mangroves or near structures like barnacled bridge pilings.  Especially in hot weather Snook and Redfish take cover under structures.  But my husband’s favorite venue is the middle of open water. We skim over the harbor and he suddenly  turns off the engine and shouts, “Throw out the anchor!”  Today I actually countered, “There is no intellectual reason why a fish would be out here!”

But fishing, like weather, is unpredictable.  While my husband successfully reeled in trout in open water, I cast as far toward shoreline mangroves as my line could reach - and caught two four-inch pinfish.

Sometimes You Catch ‘em – Sometimes You Don’t

This entry was posted in Florida Lifestyle and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sometimes You Catch ‘em – Sometimes You Don’t

  1. Anonymous says:

    you should have used the pinfish for bait there are monster grouper lurking about in open water trust me i spearfish

  2. I HAVE ONE BUILT IN 1983 IN NEWPORT N.C.IT WAS A DEMONSTRATER FOR THE 16 FT. MODEL. I HAVE HAD IT FOR 30 YRS NOW.COMES OUT OF THE WATER ONE DAY A YR TO PUT SOME ANTI FOULANT PAINT ON IT.USE IT FOR COMMERCIAL FISHING SUCH AS GILL NETTING’OYSTERING OR FOR WHATEVER I NEED IT FOR. I ALSO OWN A 17 DLX WITH A NETREEL IN IT.2005 MODEL.i have one of the first EVER built.I believe the man’s name was TERRY STARK or similar to that that first started buildimg them in Newport N.C.THE 16 FT. IS SETTING IN FRONT MY HOSE NOW AT THE DOCK WITH A 1986 40 YAMAHA ON IT.GREAT SKIFF GREAT MOTOR!

What Do You Think?

